Back when I was your age, sonny, …

The other day Ben and I went to see The Avengers in Imax 3D. The Avengers made over 207 million dollars in it’s first three days. My jaw would have dropped at this number, but it was snapped firmly shut when I saw how much it cost us to see the movie…

Thirty Seven Dollars

Yes, it cost the two of us $37 for one movie (granted, in Imax and 3D), and we almost didn’t get to sit together because the theater was so crowded. This date night was made possible by the generosity of my father and his wife who gave us a gift certificate for Christmas. How do people afford to go to the movies? Seriously, who has that sort of money? I pay less for concerts and for a week’s supply of fresh, local groceries. To gross $207 million dollars in it’s first three days means that at the price we paid at least, say, 8 people had to purchase tickets that weekend. At least that’s what it felt like when we swiped our debit card.

The movie was great. I knew it would be, given that Joss Whedon adapted and directed it. I particularly enjoyed the acting by Edward Norton as the hulk (look at me spitting out names of people in the entertainment industry!), but the whole thing was pretty well done in my opinion. It embraced the genre and made fun of itself just enough. Still, at this rate, I think we’ll be renting most of our movies from now on. Thank goodness we smuggled our own popcorn in.

