Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be?  -Marianne Williamson

I haven’t forgotten about my not-so-dirty thirty list. I’ve re-dubbed it the ‘nerdy thirty’ in the meantime, which is much more fitting. Although I haven’t accomplished many goals, I’ve been working toward several and I feel good about this year as a whole. There are moments of fear and doubt, especially accompanying leaving my job and applying for graduate school, but overall I think that 29 is a very positive and transformative year for me.

I’m not going to bother you by going through how I have accomplished, partially accomplished, or failed to accomplish each task. Suffice it to say I’m packing as much as I can in. My days are filled. I’m doing a lot of fun things, a ton of reflecting, and a lot of moving forward toward goals I’ve set for myself. And I feel very well supported and have been carving out a lot of time for family and friends. Success.

I’ve officially enrolled in two more classes for the fall semester at the Graduate Theological Union in Berkeley, and they’ve accepted me into a graduate level certificate program for Jewish studies. The certificate program will be great. I’m looking forward to furthering my understanding of Judaism, and it will complement my primary area of interest (ethics and society) in religious studies. I should be able to finish within a year, so I’ll already have the MA in philosophy and this certificate in Jewish studies when I enter into a PhD program (demonstrating my competency to all of the world!, or at least adding another thing I can teach). The courses I’m taking this fall are Modern and Contemporary Jewish Thought and Representations of Jews in the American Media. Do I love history of philosophy? Yes. Am I interested in representation and identity issues? Yes. Are these classes awesome? Mm-hmm.

Still working on grad school applications. Type type type. Trying to figure out which of my papers would make a good writing sample. Slogging through the GRE prep books again.

I don’t know if I mentioned that I did get some red lipstick. It might be the perfect shade, and it might not be. It’s good enough though, for the amount that I wear lipstick. Ben’s mom and I picked it out together over the summer, and I do bust it out from time to time. I dig it.

