Several of my relatives have cut down on their meat consumption, or cut it out completely, in the past year. They’re also eating a lot healthier. Hallelujah! Not only does this mean that my family members will hopefully live long, active lives, but it also means that I don’t have to struggle as much to find things to eat when I visit. Score.

I’m going to try to post more recipes on this blog, and I’d love to read your successful recipes if you want to share them in the comments. A month or two ago, my neighbor, Bren, hosted a sweet potato party. Sarah, Bren, and I spent the afternoon mashing and spicing the potatoes to perfection. Here are the results:

    Sweet Potatoes Four Ways

(I don’t have quantities for any ingredients here, guys. You’ll have to taste and adjust.)
The toppings were on the side so everyone could add their own.

Thai Smash
Mashed Sweet Potatoes with coconut milk and thai green curry, topped with fresh lime juice, crushed peanuts, and fresh cilantro

Chipotle Smash
Mashed sweet potatoes with cumin and chipotle chiles, topped with fresh lime juice, roasted corn, and fresh cilantro

Bombay Smash
Mashed sweet potatoes with curry and cardamom, topped with plain yogurt, peas, and fresh parsley

The fourth, bonus method is the one which I use most of the time when making potatoes or sweet potatoes:

Cut potatoes, sweet potatoes, or a mix into one inch cubes. Toss with olive oil and copious amounts of rosemary (fresh or dried), a little salt and pepper, and some minced garlic (or maybe a minced shallot). Grill in a grill pan or bake in a single layer on a cookie sheet or baking dish at 425 for a half an hour (or until browned and cooked through). Move them around with a spatula half way through.

