Do you know of those situations where a person keeps something major to him or herself for good reason, and then time passes and the news can be shared but it seems like it happened so long ago, and it was downplayed so much that it doesn’t seem major after all. Life has moved along and the person is busy with other things and the news is no longer news. It is old hat.

That very thing just happened to me this spring, and then one of my friends emailed to say that he hoped to visit us in August and I realized that I never shared my news and I actually better do that now.

The news is that I was accepted into three PhD programs (yes, I am tooting my own horn) and I accepted the offer from Emory. Ben and I are moving to Atlanta at the end of July (the perfect time to move furniture in Atlanta, I’m sure).

So now you know the news!

The PhD is in the graduate department of religion. The department is divided into tracks, and I will be in the Jewish Religious Cultures track, although I will work closely with faculty in the Ethics and Society track as well. In fact, with my interest in identity, ethics, and community, I imagine I will be working with faculty in history, philosophy, Jewish studies, and the center for ethics in addition to those in my home department. I interviewed with eight faculty in several different departments when I visited in February. Funding is great, the students are engaged, and the faculty seem at once warm and on-task/formidable (of course, I met them in the context of interviewing for my position). I think it will be a great fit.

I’m finishing my last semester at the Graduate Theological Union now, and I will be taking an intensive biblical Hebrew class in July. In the meantime, Ben and I are looking for apartments and getting all of our affairs in order to, once again, move across the country. The other night Alex, Ximena, Ben, and I averaged out our respective moves since we each turned 18. I averaged once per year. Ugh. Hopefully we’ll find a great place in Atlanta and not box anything up again for five years.

My life. (Thanks Kian!)

